«Fondahuset»

Book Tickets Online

About

Trygve Hovdal and Rolf Johnsen are the couple who open their home for various cultural occasions, including exhibitions and concerts. The grand functionalist-style villa in Røros was built as a representative residence for the director of HÅG, Håkon Granlund, in the 1960s. The villa was intended as a house for large gatherings and business people, and it was almost entirely closed off to the local population in Røros.

The name “Fondahuset” was given to the house because the American actress, Jane Fonda, stayed there during the filming of Henrik Ibsen’s A Doll’s House in Røros in 1972.

With Trygve and Rolf as hosts, the house is now open for concerts, exhibitions, and other cultural events.

Map & Directions

«Fondahuset»

Type:Other activities

Konstknektveien 68, 7374, Røros

Add «Fondahuset» to your Itinerary

Tel: 992 78 021

What's Nearby

  1. Regional Arts Centre with plenty of events. Regularly hosts performances by the national…

    0.29 miles away
  2. Just north of Røros town centre you will find an area with the distinctive character of a…

    0.47 miles away
  3. The outdoor music threatre Elden is located in the middle of the world heritage in Røros.…

    0.48 miles away
  1. Director Peder Hiort died a rich man. He had no direct descendants. In his will he…

    0.56 miles away
  2. Røros church - also called "The pride of the mining town" - was built in the golden age…

    0.57 miles away
  3. This colorful charming timber town was founded in 1646 and has since developed as both a…

    0.6 miles away
  4. Hyttklokka is positioned at the top of Mørkstugata, in proximity to Malmplassen.…

    0.62 miles away
  5. When Røros Copper Works built the first smelter in 1646 people came to get paid work and…

    0.66 miles away
  6. The Smelthytta museum is built on the ruins of the smelter that burnt down in 1975. Here…

    0.68 miles away
  7. The houses on Sleggveien, Slag road, give some idea of the social history of the mining…

    0.71 miles away
  8. This is a part of town on the opposite side of the Hitterelva river, in relation to the…

    0.7 miles away
  9. On 8 January 1886 the Fjell-Ljom newspaper published its first issue. Many young writers…

    0.72 miles away
  10. Slag is a by-product of copper smelting. Slegghaugan stand as large mountains that are a…

    0.77 miles away
  11. Røros Copper Work's most significant mining area. 12 km from Røros town centre, 1 km from…

    5.75 miles away
  12. Kuråsfossen 1, in Glåmos, was built by Røros Kobberverk and put into operation in 1896.…

    6.81 miles away
  13. Join us for an hour’s walk through 300 years of mining history. The guided tour takes you…

    6.84 miles away
Previous Next

Contact info

Peder Hiorts gate 2

NO-7374 Roros

Norway

Phone: +47 72 41 0000

Email: post@rorosinfo.com

Org.nr. 930 710 652

Roros Tourist Office (+ summer openings)

Monday - Friday: 10:00 - 16:00 (10:00 - 17:00)

Saturday: 10:00 - 14:30 (10:00 - 16:00)

Sunday: Closed (10:00 - 16:00)